The Pretoria Chess Club has a long and proud history. On this page we celebrate the various champions in our history.

We currently have four main tournaments held at the club through the course of the year. These include:

Since 1923, the club has held a club championship. The names of the club champions are indicated in the table below. The winner of the club championship receives the Rooth-Giovannetti Trophy, donated to the club in 1923 by E Rooth and CW Giovannetti. The names of the winners are mounted on the trophy foot piece.

The current format of the Club Championship is a Round Robin tournament, contested between 10 players. The Club Championship has various sections from A to C, with the winner crowned from the A section.

Prof. Albert Ponels, who has won the championship a record 19 times, first won the club championship in 1965. He is still actively involved with the club in 2022.

1923FW Dunbar
1924FW Dunbar
1925WC Walker
1926WC Walker
1927LD Murray
WC Walker
1929LD Murray
1930LD Murray
1931S Paiken
1932LD Murray
1933LD Murray
1934WC Walker
1935AG Visser
1936AG Visser
1937LD Murray
1938AG Visser
1939AG Visser
1940LD Murray
1941LD Murray
1942LD Murray
1943LD Murray
1944LD Murray
1945LD Murray
1946LD Murray
1947LD Murray
1948K Dreyer
1949K Dreyer
1950K Dreyer
1951LD Murray
1952J van Dyk
1953J van Dyk
1954J van Dyk
1955J van Dyk
1956J van Dyk
1957MJM Bennett
1958J van Dyk
1959HH Pfeiffer
1960JG du Preez
1961J van Dyk
1962J van Dyk, P Kroon
1963P Kroon
1964JG du Preez, G de Villiers
1965P Kroon, AA Ponelis
1966P Kroon
1967PJS Robbertse
1968A Haller
1969PJS Robbertse, A Haller
1970AA Ponelis
1971P Aalbersberg
1972G de Villiers, PJS Robbertse, DP Laurie
1973PJS Robbertse
1974P Aalbersberg
1975MC Wright
1976AA Ponelis
1977AA Ponelis
1978AA Ponelis
1979C van der Meyden
1980R van Niekerk
1981AA Ponelis
1982VFJ Blasl
1983AA Ponelis
1984AA Ponelis
1985AA Ponelis, A Goosen
1986AA Ponelis
1987AA Ponelis
1988A Schutte
1989J Moolman
1990DJ Laurie
1991GA Paszczyk
1992AA Ponelis
1993GA Paszczyk
1994AA Ponelis
1995GA Paszczyk
1996GA Paszczyk
1997WJH Nelson
1998NJ Wiechers
1999AA Ponelis
2000AA Ponelis, H Steyn, J de Wet
2001AA Ponelis
2002H Steyn
2003AA Ponelis
2004AA Ponelis
2005AA Ponelis
2006PE van der Walt
2007A Heyns
2008H Steyn
2009FP Senekal
2010G Plint
2011G Plint
2012J Wilken
2013C Bornheim
2014J Wilken
2015WJH Nelson
2016J Wilken
2017N Stevanovic
2018G Plint
2019N Stevanovic
2020N Stevanovic, FP Senekal
2021E Mare
2022H Steyn
2023N Stevanovic

Since 2015, a Honouree Club Champion Tournament is held during the beginning of the year. The Honouree Club Champion Tournament is named after the Club Champion of the previous year.

The format of the tournament is a Swiss tournament over 7 rounds. All club members participate in the tournament.

YearTournament NameWinner
2015Justin Wilken SwissN Wilson
2016Jaco Nelson SwissN Kasprzyk
2017Justin Wilken SwissW Pretorius
2018Nedjo Stevanovic SwissFP Senekal
2019Graeme Plint SwissFP Senekal
2020Nedjo Stevanovic SwissFP Senekal
2021Stevanovic-Senekal SwissE Mare
2022Eben Mare SwissN Stevanovic
2023Hans Steyn SwissN Stevanovic

The Blitz Club Championship was introduced in 2015.

The format of the tournament is a double round robin between all members of the club. Each player plays with the white and black pieces, 10 minutes per side.

2015N Wilson
2016N Stevanovic
2017N Stevanovic
2018CH Marais
2019FP Senekal
2020Tournament did not take place due to COVID-19 pandemic.
2021H Steyn
2022H Steyn
2023H Steyn

Starting in 2015, the Summer Swiss Championship is held toward the end of the year.

The format of the tournament is a Swiss tournament over 7 rounds. All club members participate in the tournament.

2015FP Senekal, AA Ponelis
2016FP Senekal
2017N Stevanovic
2018R Swart
2019N Stevanovic
2020Tournament did not take place due to COVID-19 pandemic.
2021Tournament did not take place due to COVID-19 pandemic.
2022PE van der Walt
2023N Stevanovic